If you have ever seen “SLQF Level 8” or “SLQF Level 6” on a university notice and wondered what it means, this guide explains the SLQF levels in plain language. The Sri Lanka Qualifications Framework (SLQF) places higher education qualifications on a 12-level ladder, from the O/L and A/L level up to the PhD. The details below come from the official SLQF document and the FAQ published by the University Grants Commission (UGC) quality assurance unit.
In short: Levels 1–2 are senior secondary qualifications, Levels 3–6 are undergraduate qualifications, and Levels 7–12 are postgraduate qualifications. A Bachelor’s degree is Level 5, an Honours degree is Level 6, a Postgraduate Diploma is Level 8, and a PhD is Level 12.
What is the SLQF?
The SLQF is a national framework that groups qualifications by level so that students, parents and employers can see how one qualification compares with another. According to the UGC FAQ, it applies to state universities and to approved non-state higher education institutes that offer Ministry-approved degree programmes. It uses 12 levels: the first two are senior secondary, the next four are undergraduate, and the last six are postgraduate.
SLQF යනු ශ්රී ලංකා සුදුසුකම් රාමුවයි. එය O/L සිට ආචාර්ය උපාධිය දක්වා සුදුසුකම් මට්ටම් 12කට වර්ග කරයි. අනුමත උසස් අධ්යාපන ආයතනවල උපාධි වැඩසටහන් මෙම රාමුව අනුව පිහිටුවා ඇත.
SLQF என்பது இலங்கைத் தகைமைகள் கட்டமைப்பு. இது O/L முதல் முனைவர் பட்டம் வரையிலான தகைமைகளை 12 நிலைகளாக வகைப்படுத்துகிறது. அங்கீகரிக்கப்பட்ட உயர்கல்வி நிறுவனங்களின் பட்டப் படிப்புகள் இந்தக் கட்டமைப்பைப் பின்பற்றுகின்றன.
The 12 SLQF levels at a glance
This table follows Table 1 of the SLQF document. “Credits” are the minimum credits the document gives for each level.
| Level | Qualification | Minimum credits (as stated) |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Certificate (G.C.E. O/L level) | Not specified |
| 2 | Advanced Certificate (G.C.E. A/L level) | Not specified |
| 3 | Diploma | 30 credits after Level 2 |
| 4 | Higher Diploma | 60 credits after Level 2 |
| 5 | Bachelor’s Degree | 90 credits after Level 2 |
| 6 | Bachelor’s Honours Degree | 120 credits after Level 2 |
| 7 | Postgraduate Certificate | 20 credits after Level 5 or 6 |
| 8 | Postgraduate Diploma | 25 credits after Level 5 or 6 |
| 9 | Master’s degree by coursework | 30 credits after Level 5 or 6 |
| 10 | Master’s degree with coursework and research | 60 credits, with at least 15 for research |
| 11 | Master of Philosophy (MPhil) | Minimum 2 years of full-time original research |
| 12 | PhD, MD, Doctor of Letters or Doctor of Science | PhD: minimum 3 years of full-time original research |
What is a credit?
The SLQF document says one credit is equal to 50 notional learning hours for a taught course. For industrial training, one credit is a minimum of 100 notional hours. Notional hours include lectures, self-study and assessments, not only time in the classroom.
SLQF and NVQ: how they compare
Table 2 of the SLQF document lines up NVQ levels with SLQF levels: NVQ 3 with SLQF 1, NVQ 4 with SLQF 2, NVQ 5 with SLQF 3, NVQ 6 with SLQF 4, and NVQ 7 with SLQF 5. The document benchmarks the NVQ 7 degree-level qualification to the Bachelor’s degree at SLQF Level 5.
Comparable is not the same as equal: The UGC FAQ says NVQ Level 4 and SLQF Level 2 are not considered equal for academic purposes. So do not assume an NVQ certificate can replace the A/L for university entry. Always check the entry rules of the institution or programme you are applying to.
To learn how NVQ levels work, read our guide to NVQ levels in Sri Lanka.
Why SLQF levels matter to you
- Postgraduate entry: notices often say a Bachelor’s or Honours degree (Level 5 or 6) is needed before a Level 7–9 programme. For example, our Commonwealth Scholarships guide refers to a Level 6 degree.
- Comparing courses: a Diploma (Level 3) and a Higher Diploma (Level 4) are different steps, even when both are called “diploma”.
- Reading notices: a Postgraduate Diploma at Level 8 is a qualification in its own right, and it is not the same as a Master’s degree.
BrightNook tips
- Write down the SLQF level shown on a programme’s official notice before you compare courses. If no level is stated, ask the institution.
- Check the minimum credits and duration, not just the title. A short “diploma” and a Higher Diploma can both be sold under similar names.
- If you plan to study abroad or apply for a scholarship, keep your degree certificate and transcript together. Many notices ask for the level of your degree.
- Plan the ladder early. For example, a Bachelor’s degree (Level 5 or 6) opens the way to Postgraduate Certificates, Diplomas and Master’s programmes.
Frequently asked questions
How many levels does the SLQF have?
Twelve. Levels 1–2 are senior secondary, Levels 3–6 are undergraduate and Levels 7–12 are postgraduate.
Which SLQF level is a Bachelor’s degree?
A Bachelor’s degree is Level 5 and a Bachelor’s Honours degree is Level 6.
Which level is a Postgraduate Diploma?
Level 8, with a minimum of 25 credits after a Level 5 or 6 qualification.
Is NVQ Level 4 the same as the A/L?
The SLQF document places NVQ 4 alongside SLQF Level 2, but the UGC FAQ says they are not considered equal for academic purposes.
Does the SLQF cover foreign degrees?
The FAQ page we checked does not address foreign degrees, so check with the UGC or the institution you are applying to.
Official sources
- Sri Lanka Qualifications Framework (SLQF) document, UGC
- Frequently Asked Questions on the SLQF, UGC Quality Assurance
- University Grants Commission, Sri Lanka
BrightNook.lk is an independent education website and is not affiliated with the UGC or any university. The SLQF is revised from time to time, so always confirm details with the UGC and the institution concerned.









