The University of Moratuwa is accepting applications for the Master of Business Analytics, 2027 intake. The part-time postgraduate degree is designed for graduates and professionals who want to use statistics, computing and analytics to support business decisions.
Why this programme matters
This is an in-person weekend programme for people who want advanced study without leaving weekday employment. Its four-semester structure covers business statistics, programming, databases, data visualisation, machine learning, data mining and an analytics practicum.
The university uses an open competitive selection process. A degree alone does not guarantee admission: educational and professional qualifications, analytical aptitude, commitment to advanced study and references are considered.
Closing date passed: this guide was written while applications were open, and the closing date in the notice was 12 September 2026. Check the official notice for any extension or the next call before you act (last reviewed 18 October 2026).
Key facts
Official application links
Who can apply?
The university lists four alternative entry routes. An applicant must satisfy one route and remain subject to Senate approval where stated:
- An Honours Bachelor’s degree from the Faculty of Business, University of Moratuwa; or
- another four-year degree in Business, STEM or a closely related area from a recognised university, as approved by the Senate; or
- a three-year degree in Business, STEM or a closely related area from a recognised university, together with at least one year of appropriate post-qualifying experience, as approved by the Senate; or
- a recognised professional qualification equivalent to a three-year degree obtained through an academic route or SLQF Level 5, together with at least one year of appropriate post-qualifying experience, as approved by the Senate.
What will you study?
The published curriculum includes Business Statistics, Programming for Business Analytics, Operations Research, Database Management, Data Management and Visualisation, Statistical and Machine Learning, Data Mining, Advanced Machine Learning Applications and an Analytics Practicum.
Fourth-semester electives listed by the university include Business Process Management, Time Series Econometrics, Spatial Data Analytics and AI Applications for Business.
Fees and selection
The published course fee is LKR 450,000. It may be paid in full at the beginning or in two equal instalments of LKR 225,000 during the programme.
A separate registration fee of LKR 7,500 applies at enrolment and includes a refundable library deposit of LKR 2,500. The application-processing fee is LKR 2,000.
Selection is competitive. The university says it considers educational qualifications, professional qualifications, commitment to advanced study, analytical aptitude and academic or professional references.
How to apply online
- Read the official eligibility routes and confirm that your qualification fits one of them.
- Open the official online application linked from the University of Moratuwa programme page.
- Pay the LKR 2,000 application-processing fee using the current Bank of Ceylon instructions on the official page.
- Complete the online application with accurate education, employment and contact details.
- Provide the academic or professional reference information requested by the portal.
- Submit before 12 September 2026 and keep the application acknowledgement and payment record.
- If shortlisted, prepare the original or official transcript required as evidence of your undergraduate degree at the interview.
Documents and information to prepare
The public programme page does not provide a complete upload checklist. Prepare the verified items below and follow the live portal if it requests additional evidence:
- degree or professional-qualification details relevant to your entry route;
- details of appropriate post-qualifying experience if your route requires it;
- academic or professional referee information;
- NIC information for the application-fee payment reference where required;
- the application-fee payment record; and
- your undergraduate transcript for the interview, if shortlisted.
Required file formats, certification rules and the interview date are not stated on the public programme page. Treat the live application portal and later university instructions as final.
Where to submit and attend
Submit through the online application portal linked from the official University of Moratuwa page. The degree is not advertised as an online programme; the university says classes are conducted in person at the University of Moratuwa on weekends.
For programme questions, contact the Department of Decision Sciences on 011 264 0270 during office hours or email pg-ban@uom.lk.
Important dates
| Stage | Date or status |
|---|---|
| Application closing date | 12 September 2026 |
| Interview or selection date | Not stated on the official programme page |
| Programme commencement | Not stated on the official programme page |
| Programme duration | 1.5 years across four semesters |
Frequently asked questions
Is the Master of Business Analytics programme online?
No. The university states that it is conducted in person at the University of Moratuwa on weekends.
Can a three-year degree holder apply?
Yes, if the degree is in Business, STEM or a closely related area from a recognised university and the applicant has at least one year of appropriate post-qualifying experience, subject to Senate approval.
What is the SLQF level?
The official programme FAQ identifies the degree as SLQF Level 9.
How much is the programme?
The published course fee is LKR 450,000. A separate LKR 7,500 registration fee applies at enrolment, including a refundable LKR 2,500 library deposit. The application-processing fee is LKR 2,000.
Is the undergraduate transcript needed with the application?
The university states that the transcript must be provided as evidence of the undergraduate degree at the interview. The public page does not say that it must be uploaded with the initial application.
Does meeting the entry requirement guarantee admission?
No. Selection is open and competitive, and the department evaluates qualifications, experience, analytical aptitude, commitment and references.
Apply before the official deadline
Check your eligibility, follow the university’s payment instructions and submit the online application by 12 September 2026.
Open the Official Online ApplicationOfficial sources
BrightNook.lk is an independent education-information website and is not affiliated with the University of Moratuwa. The university’s current programme page, application portal, payment instructions and admission decisions govern every application.









