The Open University of Sri Lanka is accepting applications for the onsite September 2026 intake of its Short Course in Digital Marketing.
The English-medium course is open to applicants over 16 years old. It covers practical areas including SEO, Google Analytics, Google Ads, content marketing, email marketing, personal branding and digital strategy.
Course details at a glance
| Course | Short Course in Digital Marketing |
|---|---|
| Institution | Open University of Sri Lanka |
| Conducted by | Colombo Regional Centre |
| Programme code | SDM |
| Current format | Onsite; online intake is closed |
| Class schedule | Sundays, 1:00 p.m.–5:00 p.m. |
| Duration | Four months and two weeks |
| Coursework | 15 weeks covering 65 hours |
| Project | Three-week project-report period |
| Medium | English |
| Course fee | LKR 20,000 |
| Closing period | Mid-September 2026; exact date not stated |
| Expected commencement | September 2026 |
Who can apply?
Applicants must be over 16 years old. OUSL describes the course as suitable for people seeking a foundation in digital marketing and advertising.
People with relevant work experience may also apply, including those who have been away from formal education for some time. The official page does not state an O/L, A/L or degree requirement.
This course may be useful for:
- School leavers exploring a digital-marketing career
- Small-business owners who manage their own promotion
- Marketing and sales staff
- Freelancers and content creators
- People responsible for websites, social media or online advertising
What will participants learn?
The published course content includes:
- Introduction to marketing and digital marketing
- Digital-marketing channels
- Modern consumer behaviour
- Content marketing
- Personal branding through social media
- Search engine optimisation
- Google Ads and Google Analytics
- Website optimisation and email marketing
- Preparing a digital-marketing plan
- Creative advertising
- Brands, creative briefs and advertising communication
- Advertising media and marketing strategies
- Event management
- Project-report preparation
The official page identifies the subject areas but does not promise certification in Google Ads, Google Analytics or any other third-party platform.
Course duration and project
The programme lasts four months and two weeks. This includes 15 weeks of coursework covering 65 hours, followed by a three-week project-report period.
The current onsite classes are scheduled for Sundays from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. OUSL has not published the exact first-class date on the course page.
Course fee and payment
The full course fee is LKR 20,000.
OUSL instructs applicants to download its bank-paying voucher and pay to the university through a Bank of Ceylon branch using account number 7417821. The applicant’s National Identity Card number should be written instead of a registration number.
The page also refers to online transactions and instructs applicants using that method to provide a valid receipt showing the transaction date and time.
Documents and information to prepare
A complete application-document checklist is not stated on the official course page.
Based on the payment instructions published by OUSL, keep the following available when seeking confirmation from the Colombo Regional Centre:
- National Identity Card details
- An active email address and telephone number
- The completed OUSL bank-paying voucher
- A clear copy of the payment receipt
Do not assume this list is complete. Check the current application instructions or contact the Colombo Regional Centre before paying.
How to apply
- Open the official OUSL Digital Marketing course page.
- Confirm that the onsite intake is still accepting applications.
- Check the current closing date and available places with the Colombo Regional Centre.
- Download the official bank-paying voucher from the OUSL page.
- Enter your NIC number where the voucher requests a registration number.
- Pay the LKR 20,000 course fee using the university’s latest instructions.
- Keep a clear copy of the valid payment receipt.
- Follow the Colombo Regional Centre’s current instructions for submitting the required details and receipt.
Official course page
Use the official OUSL page to access the current instructions and bank voucher.
View official OUSL course detailsWhat happens after applying?
The official page does not explain the acknowledgement, selection or registration sequence. It also does not state whether places are allocated in application order.
After applying, monitor the email address and telephone number supplied to OUSL. Contact the Colombo Regional Centre if you do not receive confirmation or the first-class arrangements.
Readers comparing business-related OUSL programmes can also review BrightNook’s guide to the OUSL Advanced Certificate in Human Resource Management, which has a separate eligibility structure and application deadline.
සිංහලෙන් කෙටි සාරාංශය
ශ්රී ලංකා විවෘත විශ්වවිද්යාලයේ ඩිජිටල් අලෙවිකරණ කෙටි පාඨමාලාවේ 2026 සැප්තැම්බර් ස්ථානීය කණ්ඩායම සඳහා අයදුම්පත් භාරගන්නා බව නිල පිටුව සඳහන් කරයි.
- වයස අවුරුදු 16ට වැඩි අය සඳහා විවෘතය.
- පාඨමාලා ගාස්තුව රු. 20,000කි.
- පන්ති ඉරිදා දිනවල ප.ව. 1.00 සිට 5.00 දක්වා පැවැත්වේ.
- අවසන් දිනය “2026 සැප්තැම්බර් මැද” ලෙස පමණක් සඳහන් කර ඇත. ගෙවීමට පෙර OUSL වෙතින් නිශ්චිත දිනය තහවුරු කරන්න.
தமிழில் சுருக்கம்
இலங்கை திறந்த பல்கலைக்கழகத்தின் டிஜிட்டல் மார்க்கெட்டிங் குறுகிய பாடநெறியின் செப்டம்பர் 2026 நேரடி வகுப்புகளுக்கான விண்ணப்பங்கள் ஏற்றுக்கொள்ளப்படுவதாக அதிகாரபூர்வ பக்கம் குறிப்பிடுகிறது.
- 16 வயதிற்கு மேற்பட்டவர்கள் விண்ணப்பிக்கலாம்.
- பாடநெறிக் கட்டணம் ரூ. 20,000.
- வகுப்புகள் ஞாயிற்றுக்கிழமைகளில் பிற்பகல் 1.00 முதல் 5.00 வரை நடைபெறும்.
- முடிவுத் திகதி “செப்டம்பர் 2026 நடுப்பகுதி” என்று மட்டுமே குறிப்பிடப்பட்டுள்ளது. கட்டணம் செலுத்துவதற்கு முன் சரியான திகதியை OUSL மூலம் உறுதிப்படுத்தவும்.
Contact details
Assistant Director
Colombo Regional Centre
Open University of Sri Lanka
Nawala, Nugegoda
- Telephone: 011 288 1420
- Telephone: 011 288 1464
- Telephone: 011 288 1380
- Telephone: 011 288 1130
- Email: crcsc@ou.ac.lk
Frequently asked questions
Is the course available online?
The current official page marks the online intake as closed. The listed September 2026 opportunity is onsite.
What is the minimum age?
Applicants must be over 16 years old.
Are O/L or A/L results required?
The official page does not state an O/L, A/L or degree requirement.
When are onsite classes held?
Classes are scheduled for Sundays from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
What is the exact application deadline?
OUSL states “mid-September 2026” but does not provide an exact calendar date. Confirm the deadline directly before paying.
Does the course include a project?
Yes. The programme information includes a three-week project-report period after the coursework.
Official source
BrightNook.lk is an independent education-information website and is not affiliated with the Open University of Sri Lanka. OUSL’s latest instructions determine availability, admission, payments, delivery and certification.









